Guitar Tabs available for each track here (in PDF & Guitar Pro format)

Optionally, scroll to the bottom of this page for tabs!


Marrakech is the sophomore release of Irish virtuoso guitarist and composer Shane Hennessy. The core musical concept of this album revolves around 'visual music' - music that transports its listener to a specific time or place. This album retains the melodic nature of Zephyrus (his 2015 début) while building on more complex harmonic structures and forms, as well as incorporating world and ethnic influences, almost playing against the natural strengths of the acoustic guitar at times.


Among the wide variety of styles, listeners can look forward to a mix of energetic tunes like the Nile Rodgers-inspired ‘Dance Tonight’ and the Chet Atkins-esque ‘Effervescent’. The concluding track ‘I’m Off Today’ shows off Hennessy’s efforts of capturing the modern Snarky Puppy-fusion sound in his style, and elements of global ethnic music traditions are heavily peppered throughout tracks such as ‘Marrakech’ (Arabian), ‘Quentão’ (Brazilian), and ‘Cortadito’ (Cuban). More reflective and introspective tracks on the album include the reggae styled 'Higher Love', the melodic ballad ‘Sailing To Shore’, the gentle meditative ‘Koramantra’,  and the Irish-infused ‘Through The Woods’. A feature in common to almost every track on the album is that they were written and arranged as songs prior to being arranged for guitar, hence the strong melodic presence in the tunes.

Shane Hennessy Marrakech Album Cover
Shane Hennessy Marrakech Album Tracklisting Back Cover


People who deserve a huge thank you!

This album was made possible by the generosity of 175 donors, who pledged to support my album during a campaign in February and March 2017.


People who pledged €40 or above were named as Album Patrons; their names are listed below as well as on the inside cover of the CD. I cannot thank you all enough for your support!

Phil Aelony

Shayle Allen

Onur Alpay

Onofrio America

Mary Amond O’Brien

Oisín Bates

Bernd Boeckmann

Taylor Boudreau

Tierna Brazil

Mike Clark

Tadhg Connolly

John Conroy

Robert Coyle

Derek Coyle

John Crowe

Mauro De Paoli

Bríd De Róiste

Niklas Decker

Sean Dennison

Kevin Doyle

Dave Fennessy

Noel Ford

Madeleine Forrest

Ger Furlong

David Gannon

Brockton Gates

Mattia Ghion

Eileen Gogan

Hans Gruenthaler

Tom Hanson

Sean Harding

Brendan Hayes

Paul Hennessee

Bernard Hennessy

Mary Hennessy

Mike Hennessy

Ollie & Denise Hennessy

Paul Hennessy

Walter & Mary Hennessy

Andrew Hetherington

Paul Hogan

Frank Horahan

Aoife Kavanagh

Gerard King

Ger Lacey

Walter Lacey

Michaela Larson

Liam Lawton

Kevin Levine

Jacqueline Maloney

David Marron

Ita Marron

Owen Marron

Pat Marron

Aonghus McAnally

Sean McGilly

Sean McGrath

Bill McGrath

Bríd McGrath

Padraig McGrath

Pat McGrath

Dan McInerney

Caitlín Mhic Cárthaigh

Jay Minor

Ian Mitchell

Bryan Murphy

Kevin Murphy

Helen Nolan Carty

Donie O’Brien

Gary O’Neill

Sanjay Patel

David Prendergast

Marcos Exequiel Ramirez

Ciaran Redmond

Michael James Regan

Ronan Rooney

Bernd Rossmann

Kevin Rowe

Derek Ryan

Alan Salter

Akira Satoyoshi

Horst Schneider

Guido Schulz

John Sheehan

Jimmie Sheehan

Bernard Shelly

Marty Sutton

James Amos Vranna Jr

Padraig Whelan

Rob Winstanley

Mark Wogan

David Woods